top of page

¡Vamos Pa' Cuba! Habana's Boardwalk Brings Cuban Flavor to Tallahassee Locals

While there might not be a Cuban bakery or Latin American Grill around every corner in Tallahassee, a ways down Tennessee there is a quaint restaurant called Habana's Boardwalk that serves delicious and authentic Cuban food. My roommate Katerina and I took an adventure to this restaurant on Friday afternoon. Upon arrival, we realized that religious obligations (and Catholic guilt) kept us from eating meat, so we had to make do with the meatless options offered. This made us both nervous because our normal choices at a Cuban restaraunt always consist of meat, whether it be chicken, beef, or pork. We eyed the surrounding tables with jealousy as they ate their steamy palomillas and savory lechon.

After deliberation, I decided to order rice, black beans, pan tostada, and cafe con leche. Katerina decided to order a grilled mozzerella cheese and maduros. Sans the grilled cheese, we ordered the basic staples that would pretty much tell us if this place was worth another visit. While waiting for the food, I observed the set-up of the restaurant. The small space was packed with tables for good reason. Every table was full, and there were at least two parties waiting to be seated. So far, all signs led us to believe we would have a good dining experience (or these Tallahassee natives don't know what good Cuban food should taste like).

The waitress came with our food. Placed before me was a foamy cafe con leche, steaming rice and beans, and a thin tostada. Katerina was served a gooey grilled cheese on cuban bread and maduros. As I dipped my tostada into my cafe con leche, I felt as if I was back in Miami. Eating good Cuban food is something that is easy to do in Miami and hard to do in Tallahassee. Both Katerina and I enjoyed our meals and can't wait to return and eat some of their meat dishes. If you're homesick and in need of some authentic Cuban food, visit Habana's Boardwalk and you will not be disappointed.

bottom of page